Estonia's new government takes oath of office

Please note that the article is more than five years old and belongs to our archive. We do not update the content of the archives, so it may be necessary to consult newer sources.

Ministers of Estonia's new government of the Reform Party, the Social Democratic Party (SDE) and the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) on Thursday took their oaths of office before the parliament.

Prime Minister Taavi Roivas took a verbal oath while the other ministers signed the text of the oath.

The new government consists of Foreign Trade and Entrepreneurship Minister Urve Palo, Education and Research Minister Jurgen Ligi, Justice Minister Urmas Reinsalu, Defense Minister Sven Mikser, Environment Minister Marko Pomerants, Culture Minister Indrek Saar, Rural Minister Urmas Kruuse, Economy and Infrastructure Minister Kristen Michal, Finance Minister Sven Sester, Public Governance Minister Arto Aas, Interior Minister Hanno Pevkur, Social Protection Minister Margus Tsahkna, Health and Labor Minister Rannar Vassiljev, and Foreign Minister Keit Pentus-Rosimannus.

The three parties signed an agreement to form a coalition government to govern Estonia during the four years until next elections shortly after midday on Wednesday.

The parties command 59 seats in the 101-seat Riigikogu. According to the result of the March 1 general elections, Reform has 30 seats, Center Party 27, SDE 15, IRL 14, the Free Party eight and the Estonian Conservative People's Party (EKRE) seven seats in the new parliament.