Ten parties, 18 independents register for March elections

Riigikogu elections in 2015.

PHOTO: Elmo Riig / Sakala

The National Electoral Committee received applications for registration of candidates and candidate lists from ten political parties and 18 independent candidates by the Thursday evening deadline.

Full-size lists of 125 candidates were submitted by the Estonian Greens, Estonia 200, Pro Patria, Free Party, Reform Party, Center Party, Social Democratic Party and Conservative People's Party, spokespeople for the electoral committee said.

The list of the Biodiversity Party has the names of 73 candidates on it.

Rival boards of the Estonian United Left Party submitted each a list of their own, one made up of eight and the other of 11 names. The electoral committee will decide which of the lists will be registered on Monday.

In addition to parties, documents were filed by 18 independent candidates. Of the independents, Hannes Veskimäe and Margus Saar wish to run in District No 1, made up of the Tallinn districts of Haabersti, North Tallinn, Kristiine; Ege Hirv, Maarika Pähklemäe, Sergei Svyatusenko, Hando Tõnumaa and Almar Glustsenko in District No 2, made up of Central Tallinn, Lasnamäe and Pirita; Veiko Tani and Kalju Mätik in District No 3, made up of Tallinn Mustamäe and Nõmme; Risto Nahkor, Kaido Kookmaa and Vello Kookmaa in District No 4, made up of Harju County and Rapla County; Harry Raudvere in District No 5, made up of Hiiu County, Lääne County and Saare County; Jüri Malsub, Reio Laurits in District No 8, made up of Järva County and Viljandi County; Meelis Kaldalu in District No 10, made up of Tartu City; and Üllar Kruustik and Tanel Häidkind in District No 11, made up of Võru County, Valga County and Põlva County.

Over the next two days, the electoral committee will check the documents and correct mistakes. Candidates whose registration documents are found to be consistent with valid requirements will be registered at a meeting of the committee starting at 3 p.m. on Monday.

Riigikogu elections will take place on March 3. Advance voting and e-voting will start on Feb. 21.