Virgin Maali 2015 film award goes to Riho Unt for «The Lord»

Yesterday, Estonian Association of Film Journalists announced annual best Estonian movie award as presented to Riho Unt for a brief animation titled «The Lord» (Isand).  

«The Lord» is a 18 minute animation based on a short story «Popi and Huhuu» by Friedebert Tuglas telling the tale of a dog called Popi and a monkey named Huhuu who are waiting for their lord to come home but he never does. The animals will have to manage the new situation and under the load of responsibility it takes a tragic turn.

«The Lord» kames use of music by Arvo Pärt and Lepo Sumera. During 2015, the film was recognised at Annecy, France by jury prize in short film category. The other dozen-some awards included ones from festivals at Ottawa and Espinho. 

Estonian Association of Film Journalists chairman Tristan Priimägi said the film is «an outwardly straightforward piece, a narrative, while offering a sophisticated commentary to power struggles in the world today.»

The Virgin Maali bronze stature comes with a monetary award of €2,000 as offered by Olympic Casino Estonia.

«The Lord» got picked from among five nominees also including feature films «1944» (Elmo Nüganen) and «Roukli» (Veiko Õunpuu); and two documentaries «Fast Eddy Old News» (Marko Raat) and «Out of Fashion» (Jaak Kilmi and Lennart Laberenz).

The best distributed movie award went to « Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). » by  Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu. Film journalist of the year is Tõnu Karjatse for «purposed and fruitful work in radio, TV, and digital and printed media.»

Estonian Association of Film Journalists was founded in 1993 and is member of FIPRESCI.  

Earlier Virgin Maali winners:

1993 – documentary by Sulev Keedus: In Paradisum

1994 – feature by Hardi Volmer: Firewater (Tulivesi)

1995 – cartoon by Priit Pärn and Janno Põldma: 1895

1996 – documentary by Jüri Sillart: Grisha

1997 – documentary by Mark Soosaar: Father, Son and Holy Torum (Isa, poeg ja püha Toorum)

1998 – feature by Sulev Keedus: Georgica

1999 – documentary by Marko Raat: For Aesthetic Reasons (Esteetilistel põhjustel)

2000 – cartoon by Janno Põldma and Heiki Ernits: Lotte

2001 – cartoon by Priit Tender:Mont Blanc

2002 – feature by Marko Raat: Agent Wild Duck (Agent Sinikael)

2003 – the award was shared between two films: feature by Sulev Keedus: Broken Sleep (Somnambuul) and documentary by Jaak Kilm and Andres Maimik: A Living Force (Elav jõud)

2004 – the award was shared between two films: documentary by Enn Säde: „Jüri – that Mulk (Jüri – see mulk ehk mis tuul müürile...) and documentary by Esto TV: Choose Order (Vali kord)

2005 – feature by Jaak Kilmi: Meeting a Stranger (Kohtumine tundmatuga)

2006 – feature by Veiko Õunpuu: Empty (Tühirand)

2007 – the award was shared between two films: documentary by Sulev Keedus: Jonathan fromAustralia(Jonathan Austraaliast) and feature by Veiko Õunpuu: Autumn Ball (Sügisball)

2008 – documentary by Mait Laas: Masters of Time (Aja meistrid)

2009 – feature by Veiko Õunpuu: The Temptation of St. Tony (Püha Tõnu kiusamine)

2010 – cartoon by Mati Kütt: Sky Song (Taevalaul)

2011 – documentary by Jaan Tootsen: The New World (Uus maailm)

2012 – the award was shared between two films: documentary by Sulev Keedus: The Russians of Crow Island (Varesesaare venelased) and feature by Toomas Hussar: Mushrooming (Seenelkäik)

2013 – Tangerines by Zaza Urušadze

2014 – In the Crosswinds by Martti Helde