Reform wins EU elections, gets two MEP seats

Andrus Ansip and Kaja Kallas

PHOTO: Mihkel Maripuu / Postimees

According to National Electoral Committee, Reform Party won Sunday elections, the result granting them two seats in European Parliament.

Initial data says Reform Party pocketed 79,865 votes at open elections equalling 24.3 percent of all votes available.

Centre Party got 73,449 votes (22.3 percent), IRL 45,803 votes (13.9 percent), Social Democratic party 44,573 votes (13.6 percent), and single candidate Indrek Tarand 43,390 votes (13.2 percent) of all votes available. By that, all these got one MEP mandate.

Thereby, the following politicians are headed for Brussels: former Reform Party prime minister and now Riigikogu member Andrus Ansip (45,037 votes), single candidate and current MEP Indrek Tarand (43,390), soc dem Marju Lauristin (26,871), Centre Party Riigikogu member Yana Toom (25,263), Riigikogu member Kaja Kallas of Reform Party (21,504), and current MEP Tunne Kelam of IRL (18 ,73).

Centre Party chairman and candidate No 1 of his party Edgar Savisaar got 18,527 and was not elected.

Of the parties not making it into European Parliament, the best result was shown by Conservative People’s Party getting four percent i.e. 13,261 votes. A surprising catch also came to single candidate Tanel Talve – 10,074 votes or 3.1 of votes. He was followed by single candidate Silver Meikar by 6,018 votes (1.8 percent).

According to initial data by Electoral Committee, 36.44 percent of voters participated in the EU elections.

At the last elections featuring closed lists, the largest catch of votes went to Centre Party (103,506 or 26.1 percent), granting them two seats. Therewith, Siiri Oviir and Vilja Savisaar-Toomast were sent to European Parliament. None belongs to Centre Party any longer.

At the heels of Centre Party came single candidate Indrek Tarand with 102,460 votes (25.8 percent).

Back then, Reform Party pocketed 60,877 votes (15.3 percent) and got one MEP seat which went to Kristiina Ojuland – by now expelled from the party and busy launching a new one.

For IRL list, 12.2 people cast their votes, taking Tunne Kelam back into European Parliament. One mandate went to soc dems (34,509 votes, 8.7 percent); for most of the mandate period, they were represented in EP by Ivari Padar.

All in all, the previous elections were participated by 11 parties and six single candidates. Candidates totalled 101, making 16.8 persons per seat. In 2009, 43.9 percent of voters participated in the elections.